Uncategorized

Baked! Banana bread

Last night I was able to catch a little down time for myself and decided to spread the love via food. The biggest food problem we have in our house is our collection of bananas. Thankfully, we started peeling them and freezing them if we had even the slightest hint that we weren’t about to binge on some potassium. Probably the best idea we’ve ever had.

The recipe is simple so I’ll post it below. I doubled it to make 3 smaller than the norm loaves. I ended up romanticizing the presentation of them by wrapping it in newspaper and ribbon. Like I said, I was alone…

Simple banana bread:

3-4 bananas (peeled and set aside in a bowl to themselves at the moment)

1/3 cup butter

1 egg beaten

1/2 cup sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/8 teaspoon salt

1-1/2cup flour

Your oven should be preheated to 350 and I am assuming you’ll use the standard pan of a 4×8. I really don’t know what the size of the one I used, but it wasn’t standard. I have a crazy silicone 6 loaves pan thing that I just inherited and felt the need to use.

~Mash those bananas! Since mine were frozen, I gave them a nuke in the microwave for 10 and just kind of give them a minute. Easy enough to mash with a fork.

~Pour melted butter in with bananas and mix lightly. The best part about this recipe is the bread will stay fluffy as long as you don’t over mix. This is definitely a “lightly fluff” recipe.  Mix in the egg and the vanilla, next.

~I mix all my dry ingredients together, give them a whisk and then add the dry mixture to the wet, making sure that all gets mixed as I go. I try to stick to the lightly mixing so that everything is still obtaining air along the way. You don’t want a dense stick of bread.

~Pour it in your greased up pan and pop that baby in the oven for 50-60 minutes. If you have turbinado sugar, it would go well on the top of the bread about 20 minutes in to the bake. It gives it a nice sweet crunch once its cooled.

Again, simple recipe. I bet you there are a ton of recipes the same way. I’ve been making it this way for probably 8-9 years. I actually have a friend that only sees me when I make the bread….

Leave a Reply

