Home Life

Kitchen witchin’

I’ve been spending some serious time in the kitchen this maternity leave. My back is on fire and I’m extremely tired a lot but it’s important that I keep myself moving, specifically with something like cooking. Wait wait wait. Let’s back up.

Last post I talked about my discovery that I must start a dairy free lifestyle if I am to pursue breastfeeding. It’s been a week or so. And not a bad!!! It was shockingly easy for me to cut some of the fantasy dairy products from my life. I make a sad face. I move on.

Yesterday I decided to make carrot cake styled muffins just for snacking. We had 6 ginormous carrots from our farm share that either we used right then or they would end up in the chicken coop. I love the chickens but sometimes I feel like they eat better than I. I haven’t been contributing to a farm, changing my entire lifestyle, just to throw food out. Reduce reuse recycle! But let’s get back to the cooking portion of my life.

These muffins are the bomb. Carrot cake doesn’t really have dairy in it anyway, unless you do frosting. Which I didn’t. But I did find this recipe and modified it hoping that I could replicate one from a website that I cannot remember nor find now.

These beauties are the start of a kale-sausage recipe I also found. I found it on godairyfree.org and it was also amazing. I didn’t make enough for the adults of the house I feel like. Either we have large portions normally or I just had too small of acorn squash on my hands. (They were also from the farm.)

Here is the grand finale. Topped with Panko crumbs minus any Parmesan that the recipe initially called for. I was serious about wanting to eat a bunch of them. I refrained, I only ate one half and then we had plenty of leftovers of it to put in eggs in the am. Let’s see how next week goes!

Leave a comment